This year marks 500 years of the beginning of the construction of the Belém Tower. The works began in 1514 with the supervision being carried out by Diogo Boitaca who also directed the works of the Jeronimos Monastery.
The Belém Tower was built in honor of Lisbon´s patron saint, St. Vincent and its objective was to defend the Tagus entry of enemy ships. It was originally surrounded by water in all its perimeter but has been progressively involved by sand and now is on solid ground.
The square tower has five floors comprise in the following rooms: Governor’s Room, Hall of Kings, Courtroom, Chapel and Tower Terrace.
The Belém Tower is classified as World Heritage site by UNESCO since 1983 and was named one of the Seven Wonders of Portugal in 2007.